YSL Baby doll Mascara

MBabyDoll_l

 

(image from YSL website)

 

I was sent this a few days ago for review and even though I’ve only worn this a few times I feel I can review it.

Many of you may know from previous posts that I love Max factor and L’Oreal mascaras, Max factor for waterproof and L’Oreal for normal mascara.

I think this retails for around the £25 mark but I know for a fact many department stores are selling it for £20. I have the black shade called ‘Fetish Black’ (got to love the name right?)

When I got sent this I got really excited I’ve never owned anything from YSL before and they packaging looks really fancy but when I first put it on it was a little disappointing.  Instead of saying all I don’t like about it I’m going to say what I like and dislike about it and then move on to tell you a list, yes a list of better and more affordable mascaras that do the same thing.

 

What I like:

– The wand gets all of your lases even the little baby lashes you get in the inner corners.

– You can do your bottom lashes with out getting mascara everywhere.

– The wand doesn’t get overloaded.

 

What I don’t like:

– The price. £20-£25 for something you have to throw away after three months is silly money.

– The volume….It doesn’t really give any just makes your lashes black

– It clumps a bit, Some people like clumps but I hate them.

 

I recommend this mascara if you already have long lashes as it gives your lashes a defined look but just doesn’t give much volume if your lashes are short like mine.

 

Maraca’s that do the same if not better:

 

– Collection (2000) skyscraper mascara

– 17 doll’d up mascara

– L’Oreal telescopic mascara

– Maybelline the falsies

 

all the above mascara’s above cost under £12 and I think their worth more than the YSL one. The only nice thing about the YSL one is the name and the fancy packaging so it’s safe to say I will not buy it again and for that my bank account will be grateful. I really don’t know why this product was to ‘hyped’ up.

 

One thought on “YSL Baby doll Mascara

  1. Great Review!
    We just started out our own beauty blog and would love your support. Our most recent post is a ‘Battle of the Mascaras’ review. Would love to know if your experiences are the same as ours http://rubenesquebeautyblog.wordpress.com/2013/07/05/battle-of-the-mascaras/ Other posts include a guide to the perfect starter brush kit, date night tutorial and an eyeshadow colour guide based off eye colour. The full site is http://rubenesquebeautyblog.wordpress.com/ we also have an instagram @rubenesquebeautyblog so if you have one too follow us and hit us up with a comment so we can find you

Leave a Reply

