Let’s Talk! – Scars

 

 

 

scars

Lately I’ve been getting a lot of emails and posts  people men as well as women asking about facial scaring. I’ve had so many in the past few weeks I can’t ignore and I feel that I should address this issue.

If you are one of the people that emailed me you don’t need to worry I’m not going to single anyone out or include any of the images sent.

Now that’s been sorted lets get going….

Scaring of any kind is horrible but most scaring can be hidden, but when it’s on your face it’s a lot harder to hide, and from experience I can tell you, you never feel complete comfortable with them there you just learn to forget about them.

But people can be cruel and make comments about things where they really are not needed or wanted.
Trust me when I say I know how much that can damage your self esteem. Then you start worrying about what other people think and distance yourself and keep thinking people are staring at you right?

But you really shouldn’t care about those sort of people. If the only things people can say to you is about your appearance why care?  If they can’t see the person past the scars then there really not the sort of person you want to know.

It took me a very long time to realise that and I used to get hurt and upset about the comments too but it’s really not worth your time.

 

The different types of scares include: 

  • hypertrophic scars – red, raised scars that form along a wound and can remain this way for up to five years.
  • keloid scars – caused by an excess of scar tissue produced at the site of the wound where the scar grows beyond the boundaries of the original wound, even after the wound has healed
  • pitted (atrophic or ‘ice-pick’) scars – with a sunken appearance
  • contracture scars – caused by the skin shrinking and tightening, usually after a burn, which can restrict movement

( I have a mixture of different scars on my forehead, chin and temples, ( I’ve had many fights with gravity and gravity always wins.) I don’t have contracture scars though.)

 

Read more about scar types.

Treating scars. 

You can never really get rid of a scar but you can do things to help their appearance or fade them a little. But most scares will become less visible over time.

Some are more extreme than others and I really don’t suggest those.  I’m going to go through some of the things that the health service suggest and then give my opinions on them. Then tell you what works for me.

  • silicone gel sheets – In my experience these only work on fresh scaring!
  • pressure dressings – Again only really for new scars, but didn’t work for me.
  • corticosteroid injections – I think these are a bit extreme, I don’t know if they work or not never had them but they seem unpleasant.
  • cosmetic camouflage (make-up) – This does work but only if your scars aren’t raised or sunken.
  • surgery – I wouldn’t personally go for this option seems to evasive to me.

For my scars? I just use a face scrub and a good toner. nothing really works for me as a lot of mine are sunken in to the skin. but Lancome’s dream tone is great for scars that are on the skin’s surface.

 

I really can’t stress enough that scars make us who we are and give us a story to tell if we want to tell it. Ignore what people say about them and trust me I know how difficult it is too that. Just become conformable with them and if anyone asks tell them you don’t want to talk about it or make up some vivid story about how you got attacked by pirates on your way to Narnia! either way it’s none of anyone’s business and they don’t have a right to comment.

The NHS have a tone of great advice on scars and how to treat them and many of the links in this post is to the site so check it out it’s more advice than I can ever give.  (remember I fight with gravity a lot and loose ) So check out the link below and if you want to ask me any questions leave a comment below or tweet me @AngieBeatDown

http://www.nhs.uk/conditions/Scars/Pages/Introduction.aspx

 

 

2 thoughts on “Let’s Talk! – Scars

  1. Hello,I read your article named “Let’s Talk! – Scars | Angiebeautybreakdown” like every week. Your humoristic style is witty, keep doing what you`re doing! And you can see our website about 藍光影片.

Leave a Reply

